Old Dominion University monitors developments in state laws in every state. If authorization or licensure is necessary or becomes necessary, Old Dominion University will obtain the required additional approvals.

Old Dominion University is currently exempt from authorization for online programs in the following states: Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, and Vermont.

Additional Information for Residents of Washington State

Those states that have particular information for students enrolling in an ODU Online program may be found here.

State Contact Information

Pursuant to the United States Department of Education’s Program Integrity Rule, each institution of higher education is required to provide all prospective and current students with the contact information of the state agency or agencies that handle complaints against postsecondary education institutions offering distance learning within that state. Students are encouraged to use Old Dominion University’s internal complaint/review policies and procedures prior to filing a complaint with a state agency. A list of contacts within each state is online here.